New York State Empire Development Corp.

2015 News

About Katie Sousa

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Katie Sousa has created 50 blog entries.

October 30, 2014

ERC Professors Susan Sanderson and Ken Simons publish a new study of the LED lighting industry’s emergence that tells the story behind the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics and much more, revealing a half-century-long process involving many tens of thousand of researchers and technological and industrial twists and turns. Free download through December 5, or at Science Direct.

December 13, 2012

Smart Lighting Industrial Seminar Series: Dr. Ravi Bhatkal, VP Energy Technologies, APPHA, Cookson Performance Materials presents: Thermal and Electronic Interconnects in LED Packaging and Assembly.

November 30, 2012

Rensselaer Professor Shawn-Yu Lin Named Fellow of the AAAS.
Nano-photonics expert Shawn Yu-Lin, professor of physics at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a member of the university’s Future Chips Constellation and Smart Lighting Engineering Research Center, has been selected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

November 29, 2012

Local public television station WMHT features Smart Lighting ERC Director, Bob Karlicek in a short, 2 minute video titled: Engineering Better Lighting

November 16, 2012

Rensselaer ERC student Brian Frey (Physics), took second place in the “Perfect Pitch” competition, winning a $2,000 prize at the NSF 2012 ERC Annual Meeting.

November 16, 2012

Dr. Majeed Hayat, Associate Director of the Center for High Technology Materials at the University of New Mexico and Smart Lighting ERC Faculty member has been elected a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA). OSA recognized Dr. Hayat “for pioneering the dead-space formulation of impact ionization and noise in avalanche photodiodes and developing non-uniformity correction algorithms for infrared sensors.” The OSA Fellow is awarded to OSA Members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics. This honor is reserved to no more than 10% of the total membership.